• Web Dev Questions That Don't Need Their Own Thread v4
    5,001 replies, posted
I want to say this is web development related but it doesn't have a section it perfectly fits in, sorry if I post it in the wrong section :3 Anyway... Me and my friend recently purchased a dedicated server for use with game server hosting for our community but also to mess around with web hosting a bit. I have installed mysql on the server but no matter what I try I can not enable remote connections, I have bind-ip set to *, the user set to allow connections from all ip's (%) and I have checked 29 times that the ports are opened on the firewall and that tcp is enabled in the config. One more thing I would like to add is that we are using windows server 2012 r2 and also the odbc driver doesn't install but from what I can tell that driver is just for connecting windows's built in database management (I think) Sorry if I sound dumb, I am relatively new to this sort of thing so its a learning experience for me [editline]1st July 2014[/editline] Oh just want to add, I get an error 110 when trying to connect