5kb limit on lua scripts?

Never ran into this issue before (been a couple years, but I used to be a decently active developer, if a bit inactive on FP), but it seems like there’s a 5kb limit on lua scripts on my new development server. Is there a convar that I’m missing that dictates a maximum size, or is there something really weird going on?

For reference, I’m 99% sure there’s a maximum size because the scripts work perfectly fine as long as they are under 5kb, but I start running into things like “expected ) near eof” when I add spaces or comments, and the it stops working at exactly 5kb.

nope sv_commands.lua from DarkRP is 14 Kb, you just have a syntax error.

Trust me, it’s not a syntax error. Again, it compiles perfectly fine as long as the file is under 5kb. But if I add enough spaces to push it over 5kb, it fails to compile saying that it’s missing symbols that are at the end of the file.

[editline]30th December 2016[/editline]

This compiles just fine, whereas this does not

The only difference is the extra whitespace at line 80, which pushes it exactly to 5kb

The error it receives on the second one is

[ERROR] addons/grapple/lua/sh_grapple_shared.lua:152: ')' expected (to close '(' at line 107) near '<eof>'
  1. unknown - addons/grapple/lua/sh_grapple_shared.lua:0

That closing parenthesis is the last character, which gets cut off by apparent the 5kb limit

Does the script actually run successfully even though the error message appears?

I haven’t tested that extensively. In this case, theoretically, everything but the hook would run correctly, but since it’s erroring while calling hook.Add, that FinishMove would never get called. So lua refreshes would work fine, but a full reload (changelevel or server restart) would fail.