A Beginner's Texture Problems

I am a new mapper in the Garry’s Mod community and need just a bit of help getting started with textures.

I tried to de-compile some of the generic Star Wars textures in some maps and placed them into the Garry’s Mod materials folder using the following directory:

D:\Steam\steamapps\common\GarrysMod\garrysmod\materials\Custom\Creator Files\Star Wars Stuff\Star Wars Stuff 2\Materials (My D drive is the place I install most of my stuff because my C drive is getting full).

When I tried to do this and go into Hammer’s texture browser, it just seems to break Hammer until I remove the entire file and I don’t know why this is happening (again, I am an extreme novice). If anyone can provide me with the correct way to place textures into the interface, that would be great. I will update on any future problems I have. Thanks!

-MARIOGUY789

Post Script: The files that I de-compiled also contained misc. props and other models, which I don’t know if there’s some sort of problem with placing those in the same folder or otherwise.

look at the .vmt file for info on where the textures should be put

"$basetexture"	"concrete\c3a1_ConcreteWall_001b"

thats you line you need to look at after “$basetexture” i the directory setup concrete is the folder the texture will be in, the way you did it you’d have 5 folders

Custom\Creator Files\Star Wars Stuff\Star Wars Stuff 2\Materials

if those folder settings aren’t in the .vmt Hammer will not find the textures, also the Custom folder is broken in Gmod, so you have to place the textures into the materials folder to be found

Ah… I see, that’s what I forgot. Thanks taz0, but one other thing, I made that “Custom” folder myself, as when I went into the base materials folder, there was no such folder.

Update

I can’t seem to figure out how the file system works, so here’s what I need to know: