A collection of questions for a specific project

Hello all, I’ll be throwing up questions here as they arise as I know there are a lot of very experienced mappers with knowledge to share. More than happy to be pointed towards appropriate wikis/helpfiles but for some of these issues I’m not even sure what the relevant help would be under. Where I am at now I have these questions:

• Reskinning: I’ll need to play about with a vtf editor or something like that? From what I’ve heard it’ll be a matter of exporting models as tga’s into photoshop and then putting them back as vtf’s so they can be used in hammer? I’ve never used photoshop before either, but essentially all I need are white and black models of exactly the same face.
  • Camera Trick: I just need the camera to show the face of the player briefly at the start of the map, or to somehow trigger a quick camera movement which has the player view their character close up for a second or two before snapping back to a third person perspective. The skin colour of the player character is very important and from third person you can’t really make it out all that well.
  • Auto-execute: I’m able to run my .lua’s from inside the editor which strip my character of weapons and switch to the third person, but is there a way to set the camera to third person by default (ie when I run the map it’ll load in third person and automatically execute my lua script which strips all of the guns including phscannon etc).

Got some great help here a week or two ago which I’m thankful for but this is a work in progress and I’m bound to come up against some more issues. Thanking you in advance for any responses.

• Reskinning, this is mapping, not models, ask in models section.
  • The player does not have a model by default. You will have to do some modelling or lua dohickery. Again, not our section.
  • Again…this is the mapping section. Ask in lua section for anything lua based.

Also, consider asking for help in the help threads.