A Final Plea for a more Robust & Intelligent Server List

I’ve been playing Garry’s Mod for 9 years, I’ve been a developer, mapper, small community leader, and a player.
My nostalgia for this game is unparalleled, having been involved in NoxNet, Gmod Tower, Sassilization, Puslar Effect, Darkland, TacoNBanana,
LmaoLlama (My own community and the original Basewars), and an extra in the War of the Servers machinima.
I’ve been a member of Facepunch since 2008 (https://facepunch.com/member.php?u=158607).

That being said, I don’t play that much anymore but whenever I am feeling nostalgic and hop on I remember why I quit:
The ultimate lack of diversity in game mode choices which once existed in Garry’s Mod before the server list was replaced.

Before the current server list, the legacy server list was a meritocracy
I.E. the servers with the most fun/original content were at the top of the server list.
This meant that no matter the gamemode, any singular gamemode that was popular gained more visibility
but with the current server list duplicates and clones of gamemodes with the exact gamemode name are grouped together and dominate at the top of the server list
while original gamemodes which may only have one full server are pushed to the bottom of the server list

this creates a feedback loop where content that is copied is favored by the system and gains more visibility while original content gets less and less visibility.

To the current dev team, please modify the current server list to resemble the meritocracy of the legacy server list.

TL;DR Communities with original gamemodes cannot compete for visibility with mainstream gamemodes and eventually die within the system created by the current server list.

If you agree please comment to keep this post visible.

There is literally no [developer] that likes the new server browser.

I doubt it will be changed though

I really just don’t understand why not, it would take like 1-3 hours to recode.