A plea for the return of Linux servers

I know development of the Linux server was stopped for a good reason (whatever it may be). I know no updates have been promised or forthcoming. I know the Linux server is, for all intents and purposes, off the table at this point. But I still have to ask.

I have some excellent hardware sitting idle in premium tier 3 datacenters in NJ and Chicago. E3-1230s and up with 32G each and RAID 10 SSD. I’d love to put these to work running Rust, and in fact I’ve got one of them hosting my 3 servers right now under Server 2012. But my life would be so much easier if I could just run a Linux version instead of Windows. Not just for cost (since I already have the 2012 license), but for security and ease of management.

I do IT security for a living. I know my way around Linux. It’s what I eat, sleep, and breathe. I know how to secure it, I know how to troubleshoot it, I know how to make it behave, and like a screaming toddler on methamphetamine, I have no way to use that metaphor but I wanted to include it anyway.

I can secure Server 2012. It’s not all that hard. But it’s not my primary home. I spend most of my time in the CLI. Yes, I know 2012 has SSH, but it’s not quite the same (though I have to admit, PowerShell is growing on me). Frankly, until you add a (paid) brute force / IPS and a (paid) antivirus solution and a (paid) log parser, Server 2012 is just more effort to secure and maintain than, say, CentOS. And since it’s the only Windows server I administer, there’s no economy of scale. Most of the Windows admin tools out there are built to facilitate administering a fleet of hundreds or thousands of boxes, and that’s not the case here.