A script that checks to see if the install of Gmod is legal

I wanted to include a script for a map I’m working on that would only allow it to run on legal copies of Gmod.

Basically, the idea I had was that it would first check to see if common ‘crack’ files used by Steam emulators were present in the Gmod directory itself, and any of the directories for games that Gmod is currently mounting. If it found any of these, map closes.

Then it would check to see where the process is currently running from. There’s a registry value that shows where steam.dll was last loaded from, and if the script finds that it is anything other than where it usually is run from ( X:\Program Files\Steam\ usually), then the map closes.

Unfortunately, I’m not an Lua coder, so I wouldn’t even know where to begin writing this.

I know someone is going to ask ‘Why bother?’, and my reasoning is that even though only legal players should be able to download this in the first place since I’ll be uploading it to garrysmod and only garrysmod, but I wanted to have this script in place for when people reupload it outside of garrysmod without my permission, probably for non-legal players.

Lua doesent work outside of Gmod, so you wont be able to detect that. Maybe with a module though.

Have a read of YouStream. I added antipiracy to it.

[editline]10:28PM[/editline]

It’s basic and shit, but works to a degree.

Yes you can, there’s an entity in Gmod’s FGD that allows scripts to be autorun on map start.

Although the model would be nice for some sort of ‘map can’t run without (scriptnamehere)’ trap so people can’t just remove the entity.

I stand corrected.

Maybe have it start a short timer on load, which the script then stops and if it isn’t stopped it will do horrible things?:3:

This seems really unorthodox, but if you must do this, I would do something like what ralle was saying, and remove the world entity as a consequence.