A tutorial on AI nodes?

Hey I was wondering if there is anywhere I could get a nice tutorial on AI nodes. I’m not asking for a combine assault scene I just want to be able to have NPC wars and they know when to take cover and how to navigate. If there is no tutorial can someone just explain it to me? Should I put down one of the ground and be done with it? Should I put one in ever single corner? Where on that corner?

put them where you think npc’s should be going

This pretty much sums it up. AI nodes aren’t tricky at all.

So take gm construct for example. In the building with the semi open roof, would I just put an Info_node in the middle of the room and the NPCs would know to take cover behind the walls if getting shot at from outside? Or do I put a few in the corners and places to take cover? I’m sorry but I pretty much have failed at everything I have ever tried to do. That is why I have been mapping for 3 years and first maps are sometimes better than mine.

Yeah, that’s pretty well it. Put lots in paths and such where it could be tricky for npcs to navigate (Model spam, debris, etc) and put a few where it’s easy for them to walk around.

There’s a little more to AI-prepping a map than what’s been said in this thread.

Props need to be masked with NPC CLIP brushes in order to tell NPCs how to navigate around them and some info_node routes need to be fine-tuned for complex obstacles like stairs. You can see how your routes are connected via the ai_show_connect command while in-game.

There’s something about cover nodes in the valve wiki too. You can read a lot of stuff there.

I think he’s just looking for the basic, but if you want to get complex just go arouse your brain here.

[editline]12:29PM[/editline]

Works great for cover nodes.