Advisor - A flexible open source administration framework

λdvisor

An open source and expandable administration framework for your S&box servers and addons.

But wait, S&box isn’t out yet?!

Indeed, this is written in a somewhat game agnostic fashion so we can port it to S&box once we have access to it.
As such, there likely won’t be a lot of networking, UI, or data storage involved until we’re certain of what we’ll be able to use.

What is λdvisor?

λdvisor (read: Advisor) is an administration addon in heavily development, built to provide the following features to your servers:

• String based permission system.
  • Moderation commands.
  • Full administrative control of your server through an in-game menu.
  • Logging of user actions such as joining, leaving, chat messages, kills, bans and more.

As well as more down the line once we get more access to S&box. We’re open for suggestions!

I’m a developer, what would λdvisor bring to me?

We’ll be creating a simple to use API to give you access to the following features:

• Custom commands through simple to use attributes and methods.
  • Querying the permissions service and adding custom permissions.
    • This might change, as it seems S&box might have something included. If that is the case, I’ll probably refactor my system to use S&box’s behind the scenes.
  • Implementing custom logging of your addon’s events.
  • Access to custom events used by λdvisor with possibility of overriding results.
  • And more down the line!

Welp, enough of the README copypasting.

I’ve been working on this for a few weeks, mostly as a fun side project, but also because I like writing tools for other developers to use. Right now, most of the command side of things is implemented, even though I make daily adjustments to it. I’ll be starting work on the permissions system next, which will use minecraft like permission strings, they’re pretty cool (advisor.moderation.ban for example).