Airboat Aviation - Development and Concepts

Hey there!

Sorry for being more than a **week **late to post this, but I was busy with things and I thought I’d post sooner but here it is…

Airboat Aviation

*2 planes fly over the small island in a violent dogfight with onlookers watching in suspense as the planes duke it out in the sky. The single-prop airboat plane, the “Vodka”, makes its maneuvers as the larger two-prop airboat plane, the “Thirsty”, engages the Vodka with it’s melon cannon, taking a lucky pot shot and evidently hitting the rudder.
The original idea for this spawned from a desire to construct functional aircraft that used the HL2 airboat as the main part of their construction, since the airboat looked like it was part of a seaplane and it always made me think of how it would look if it had wings…

I had made many previous attempts at building functional airboat planes, but alas, I’m not very good at getting things to work so I thought of using the idea in a different way. I was very inspired after digging into the Facepunch forums after all this time of using it as merely a place where I go to get more models to collect. Vioxtar’s images are prime inspiration with his Garry’s Mod themed scenebuilds, as well as some classic material such as Robert Stoneman’s *War Of The Servers.

I first started making the first prop plane on the map I was going to be shooting on, doing so because I tried to use the environment and atmosphere to influence the process of the design. I built the thing in the flat space in the skybox, welded it together and duped it. I posed the ricketty and messy dupe and produced a few test shots to see how well it turned out…