All players receiving message

Hello,

So I have two chat commands, when they’re entered they open a panel. However, when a player types one of the chat commands, I want it to print a message in ALL players chats. I’ve tried the net and usermessages but they haven’t worked for me. I’m still learning so any help would be awesome! Thanks

[lua]

if SERVER then
local chatCommands = {
“!forums”,
“!website”,
}
hook.Add( “PlayerSay”, “ChatCheck”, function( ply, text, bteam )
if ( table.HasValue( chatCommands, text:lower() ) ) then
umsg.Start( “forumsOpen”, ply )
umsg.End()
return “”
end
end )
end
[/lua]

That’s the file in it’s current state without the stuff I’ve tried.

Thanks.

You could send another usermessage but this time to all players, then use chat.AddText( … ) in the usermessage hook in the client realm.

Could you provide an example? I’m still learning, someone helped me make the chat command.

If you remove

return "" 

Then the command they type in chat will show up as normal, like ‘Niandra: !forums’, which might be easier/nicer

Alternatively, you can just k, v in pairs to loop through everyone and use ChatPrint

Ewww no, use net messages, you could also do what Niandra said and chat print, but if you want sexy colors and what not then use my method and alter the addtext.
[lua]

if SERVER then

util.AddNetworkString("ChatOpenUI")
util.AddNetworkString("ChatBroadcast")

local chatCommands = {"!forums","!website"}

hook.Add( "PlayerSay", "ChatCheck", function( ply, text, bteam ) 

net.Start("ChatOpenUI")
		net.Send( ply )

net.Start("ChatBroadcast")
		net.WriteString("My message")
		net.Broadcast()

return "" 
	end
end )

else

net.Receive("ChatOpenUI", function()
	-- Create VGUI Here.
end)

net.Receive("ChatBroadcast",function()
	chat.AddText( net.ReadString() )
end)

end

[/lua]

Alright.

Here’s one way to do it:

if ( SERVER ) then

local chatCommands = {

"!forums",  
        "!website"

}