Any advice for a wanna be coder?

Hello Gentlemen

I want to start learning lua and coding addons etc.

Any advice? Places to learn from, where to start that sort of thing :slight_smile:

Try to figure things (problems) out on your own. If I had done that when I started programming instead of asking programming aficionados I would have learned a lot quicker.

Get into good habits. Comment things, keep them organized, if you come across a problem as rbreslow said, work through it. Only ask if you are absolutely stumped.

Yes but I mean I am starting almost from scratch! The limits of what I know is editing config files for scripts I bought on Coderhire haha! Any good sites to learn from?

You need anything, look there.

Take workshop addons apart that do something what you want it to do, and see how they do it. Then create your own method.

Yeah write your code so other people can easily follow it. Good variable names, well documented functions that describes what the function does, acceptable input, and expected output. Basically all the good programming practice you learn in an entry level computer science class. Also being an efficient typist can help prevent annoying syntax errors.

http://i.gyazo.com/922dddbd2ae95ea9e40e0de4264981bb.png

That’s really good advice :slight_smile: Thank you for your help. If anyone else has other useful stuff I’m all ears :slight_smile:

[editline]15th May 2014[/editline]

Nookyava I’ll start right now :slight_smile:

code_gs gives us tons of resources for that

My way of learning is more hands on. I edit weapon and addons as well as read tuts on the wiki. I’ve only been learning it about 6 months :v:

You can read through others code and try to see how things work (I can read lua but have a hard time coding in it) but you could do better than that. Good luck!

Edit: don’t expect to get it all at once

You’ve been blessed by the Lua fairy. ( This video will be tough but probably inspirational. )