Anyone know how to send a message to Garry's team that wouldn't be viewable by the public?

Hey, does anybody know how I can send a message to Garry’s development team that wouldn’t be viewable by the public?

I have a theory for a relatively easy and performance efficient way of detecting speedhackers (at least as far as melee speedhacks go, not for movement speedhacks), and i’d really like to get it out to the team, but I don’t want it public, because i’d prefer the people working on hacks to not be able to see it.

If anyone knows and could post or PM me a way to contact them, i’d really appreciate it! Thanks :slight_smile:

You might be able to PM Garry’s account if you find one of his posts somewhere, but I’d be pretty amazed if he actually read that shit.

Thanks, i’ll try this and cross my fingers.

garrynewman@gmail.com saw it somewhere posted by garry on a forum

The people making the hacks are probably smarter than you.

I’m a programmer and used to make hacks and I make servers/clients. It doesn’t matter how smart they are by doing simple server side checking it removes the possibility for melee speedhacks.

You shouldn’t assume things.

Thanks, i’ll try this also.

Have you considered that server-side validation isn’t being rigorously processed due to efficiency and performance reasons?

It slows down iteration, and the server’s performance is already a concern. Validating everything server-side is a great way to introduce more bugs and slow the pace down.

This was the case in legacy, as well. It’s not that they don’t know how, it’s that there are other priorities first, because it’ll get a lot more complex once they start aggressively defending Rust from hackers.