Anyone who plays Rust has to read this.

http://thegamesnob.net/2014/01/26/what-is-rust/

Shed a new light on all those hours spent in Rust. And, whether you agree or not, it’s great this stuff is starting to get written about games.

Is this your blog, by chance, ramitup?

Also, that bibliography is completely useless.

"Rust

The Oxford English Dictionary

Wikipedia

Youtube"

Thanks, I’ll be sure to follow up on those hyperlinked references you didn’t leave behind, author. The only YouTube reference is TotalBiscuit’s video, where he’s referred to as a “proper gaming journalist”.

…really strengthening your argument there, pseudonymous author. Good start to your essay.

It’s not my blog - I came accross it on reddit and thought the Rust community should see it. Also - I think you’ve taken it too seriously

I’m a writer; it’s kind of my field of expertise. However, I’m not going to make you answer for the essay, it just seemed slightly suspicious that your very first post was linking to this blog that has only one post on it. It’s a common pattern for advertising accounts, but it’s not always the case.

Yeah I get that - no offence taken.

As someone whose area of expertise isn’t writing though, I’m still entitled to an opinion about writing. And I think, if you’re taking this seriously as an academic piece and not as a piece of interesting games journalism, then however good a writer you are, you’re not a particularly good reader.

Stopped reading at Karl Marx, this is going nowhere.

Actually, my honest opinion is that that blog post is so far up its own ass I can’t take it seriously at all.

irony?

Not a hint. Are you sure you didn’t write this essay? I’m not out to offend you or the blog writer. At the same time, welcome to Facepunch, we do things just a little differently here.

I’ve spent plenty of time reading scientific studies about online gaming and honestly, this blog missed the mark. (I did a number of research papers in college on the topic)