Birdseye View (or GTA style camera)

Trying to get the game camera to be a birds eye view and the player faces/turns where the cursor is. (sort of like Diablo or similar RPG games.

I tried CalcView but that just offset the camera like I had a stretched neck.

I’m fairly new to trying lua so don’t know what I should be looking for. I’ve looked in gamemodes with similar camera styles but I can’t find what I should be looking for. I’ve spent many hours now trying to find this in gamemodes and google. Please point me in the right direction and/or give examples.

Thanks.

In your CalcView, just change the angles as well as the position. Set the position high above the player, and set the angle’s pitch to 90 (or -90?).

I had a BITCH of a time getting this to work for a gamemode that I kinda gave up on. I’ll spread the wealth, all I ask is if you release you give credit.

PLEASE keep in mind that this was implemented in a FRETTA player class - it shouldn’t be too much work to switch it out of that but thats what I’m giving ya.

[lua]
–These are simply functions to store the values for the traces calculated in calcview
–Makes it easier to access the tracepos in other files/functions
–To access a player use the following (example
–player:GetPlayerClass():GetData(player, “MPos”)
function CLASS:SetData( ply, key, val )
self.Data[ply] = self.Data[ply] or {}
self.Data[ply][key] = val

if CLIENT then
	RunConsoleCommand( "setdata", key, val )
end

end

function CLASS:GetData( ply, key )
if not CLASS.Data[ply] then return nil end
return CLASS.Data[ply][key] or 0
end

–This function is needed to adjust the angle for CalcView for widescreen resolutions
local function MPosAimVec(iScreenX,iScreenY,iScreenW,iScreenH,aCamRot,fFoV)
local fHalfWidth = iScreenW0.5;
local fHalfHeight = iScreenH
0.5;
local d = fHalfWidth/math.tan(fFoV*0.5);

local vForward=aCamRot:Forward();
local vRight=aCamRot:Right();
local vUp=aCamRot:Up();