Black Walls, Fun with Triggers, and Other Stories from a Bored Mapper

Been screwing around with a map I made several years ago for a server that no longer exists, just for fun. However, I’ve run into a set of problems.

VRAD Hates Me

Quite simply, this brush should not be black. It’s exactly the same as its partners in terms of material (and you can see that it is lit further down), and has several sources of lighting, but VRAD has somehow decided that this wall shall be black. Not even a flashlight can pierce its blackness, nor can 50 flashlights. I’ve been poking at it for several years as new SDKs come out, all to no avail. There are no errors in VRAD or VVis to tell me how this beast came to be. I’m tempted to recompile VRAD with some debugging code, but figured I might as well ask in here before attempting to re-invent the wheel.

The brush in question is part of an underground launch silo, which has some doors on the top in a “pizza” configuration, where the “slices” slide into the metal bits on the side when opening the silo. (Think of the cool doors on the alien spaceships in Independence Day.) A brush with the tools/toolsblocklight material covers the entrance, and a func_areaportal linked to the doors (closed by default) covers that.

I should mention that an earlier revision of the map had the lights flush with the wall corners, without the stone “conduits”. I moved them out a bit in an attempt to see if it was the angle of lighting causing the problem, but as you can see, it still persists. And yes, I’m aware the catwalk is ugly. I have Plans.

Weapon Removal Triggers

This is an area where I frequently pit NPCs against each other for my own personal amusement, and wish to add in a trigger that nukes all the guns that pile up in enormous drifts (as they tend to crash the game and distract rebels), all without killing players or NPCs.