Blender Viewmodel/Swep Help

I am new to modelling, and I want to make a simple swep to get started.
(You can guess what this is right?)

This model is correctly UV mapped w/ a 512*512 tga, and there are no colliding polys. All faces are pointing out. Everything is ready, and I could put it in game (I haven’t, but I have gotten a textured box ingame as a physics prop).

What I need is some help in making this into a swep. I use blender, and I have found some viewmodel tutorials, but they are confusing, and I cannot seem to make a viewmodel.

But, first things first, where are the HL2 arms and their texture? I have only found hands_reference.smd and I cannot find their texture, hands.tga

Once I get some hands, I think I can follow the tutorial pretty well, but then I get an error trying to export them together. Once I get some proper arms I will give you a better description of my problem.

If there is a better tutorial on SWEP making, I would appreciate a re-direct.

Thanks You

Bump

You need GCFScape to get the texture for the hands but you shouldn’t need it as if you put the material path:

$cdmaterials "models/weapons/v_hands"

In your qc when you compile it should find and use them quite happily in-game ^^

Thank you for the response :smiley:

So GCFScape will allow me to extract the arm model, fully rigged, in .smd format? With its texture? Sorry, I am very new to this, but I really want to get this fist SWEP out of the way, it is for a gamemode.

EDIT:

Also, can you use multiples of the $cdmaterials command in your qc? Like if I use a different material for my hammer than arm models, even if they are in the same viewmodel?

You can extract the MDL and other parts needed for a model which can then be decompiled to SMDs and the textures in VTF format which can be exported with VTFEdit (you can open and export the textures directly from the GCF file you don’t have to export the VTF first :stuck_out_tongue:

As many as you wish :smiley: