bsp version 21, expecting 20 map load failed

Hi I am new to creating maps and after compiling my map and try loading it in various valve games I get this in console “bsp version 21, expecting 20 map load failed”. Now I am using Hammer from right clicking source filmmaker launching the sdk and opening hammer from there. Don’t think that would be the issue, but is there anyway of compiling the map so it’s version 20 instead of 21?

EDIT
Things I learned if anyone else is having this issue. Make sure you use the Source SDK to open up hammer. Don’t use hammer in the SFM SDK! That solves the bsp version problems. Other problems I ran into were that some of the skyboxes were not working in source filmmaker. If you pick from the tf2 list you should be ok

https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Sky_List

. There is also an HDR error you might get when loading your map into SFM so make sure when you compile your map the HDR is checked on!

Also many thanks to Xenon141.

Check the HammerEditor you are using.
Pay attention to the toolbar on the (by default) left edge of the screen.

If it ends with the tool Vertex Manipulator then the problem is not the one I think off.

If it shows some form of a letter M and Y, and by clicking it you see something about exports to Maya…
You are most likely using Source2011 which is made for new-age valve games such as “Alien Swarm” or “Portal 2”.

From the information you provided, I think the problem may be that you are not using the SourceSDK, but a different HammerWorldEditor provided with the SFM (SourceFilmMaker).

For the actual SourceSDK navigate to :
Steam->Library->Tools->SourceSDK.

Although I am not 100% sure, I think you should install the SourceSDK bases aswell.
If however you are using the editor just purely for TeamFortress 2, that may not be required.