Building System sucks since update 11/5/15

Ever since this new update you, as most of you know, have to pillars on the middle of floors. which is completely idiotic. Put down a door open it and run into a pillar. Great. With this new system bases have to be completely walled every which way order to build stuff on higher floors. Dumb. I’ve heard that the new pillar system was introduced to make you use less materials. Well if that is the case i have used way more material on stuff breaking because it wasn’t stable enough due to this awful system. Please fix it or go back to the old system which worked way better!!! Thank you.

[editline]5th November 2015[/editline]

Just what i want to open my door to.

Its so awful. They removed my ability to build cool shit. I’m an admin and I spend a lot of my time building stuff specifically for people to raid and to navigate by.

This is usually the first thing I build after a wipe. It serves as a navigation beacon to the admin town and a jumping puzzle, players love it. And now I can’t build it.

My cool space rocket (russian design) that had a jumping puzzle in it and a prize at the top. Forget that now.

FP’s Rust devblog 84 has this to say about the awfulness:

I say being creative is what its all about and using things in a manner in which they were not intended is modern digital culture.

Similarly the new tool cupboard rules make it very difficult to make a large secure base now. Until the tool cab zones can be shown in-game (bad idea) you have to do a load of maths to figure out where they’re going (9 building blocks minimum between tool cupboards) and it regularly requires changing my base design for the worst.