Can I get some advice on this map design?

Well after getting frustrated with not having maps that fit the style of rp that I was looking for and avoiding rp_autistictown like the plague, I decided to just make my own map. I am trying to design a RP map for our server that we run and I wanted to know what you guys think about this layout. Although I have made a map before I am still relatively new to it. Since I am also coding a bunch of things for the server I might just end up getting someone to make this map for us, so we can get my idea out to the public

Now I do know about using portals and stuff so I tried to section off the map with bridges/caves for a smooth transition. Also I did take into account that this map would exceed the max map size so some of these areas will need to be layered on top of each other.
e.x.: The dam can easily be put underneath the city layer of the map.

What are some others things I can do for performance and play improvement. Also I need to make sure this map is not to big in file size. That is the number one thing that kills off large maps. Players refuse to download anything over a certain mb regardless of how good it is. I am also trying to make it a need to have cars but at the same time you can walk places.

Here is a list of the stuff we want in the map:

Policae station
prison
government building
gas station
club
Bank

Fast food place

School
daycare
playground

Mall
Clothing store
Movie theatre
Mechanic building
Hospital
Fire Department

caves
lake
forest

beach house
beach

race track
farm area
church

Empty places to build a house
Neighborhood
Factory Plants

Skybox for different weather
Mountains
grocery store
Power plant
park
ghettos 

Here is the layout of the map: Click to see full image

Also ignore the name I can’t think of anything to call it right now.