Checking if a player is within a certain zone

I have a ttt_traitor_button in my TTT map, but I only want it to be used if the traitor who presses it is inside the room. Obviously a ttt_traitor_button can be seen and used through walls, and I don’t want that to be possible in this instance.
I originally posted about this in the mapping section, but was told that it isn’t possible unless I used lua code run by a lua_run entity in my map. Unfortunately I’m a beginner with lua coding and am not sure where to start…

When the player presses the floating traitor button, how could I use a lua_run to test if the traitor who activated the button is inside the room and only fire the output if he is?

I appreciate any help given.

You can’t fix this with lua_run entity. You gotta either edit the ttt button entity or create your own entity.

[lua]function IsOnlyPlayerInRadius( _player, origin, radius )
for k,v in pairs( ents.FindInSphere(origin,radius) ) do
if ( v != _player ) then
return false;
end;
end;

return true;

end;[/lua]

yes i know this is a circle

It is seriously impossible to test if a person is inside a certain room when he presses a button?..

Because the creator of TTT himself said it is not possible to edit the ttt_traitor_button.

use the function i wrote to edit the button.

It is not doable with lua_run entity. You gotta edit ttt_traitor_button, or copy it and edit, this is very much possible.

Well he’s lying or dumb. Just edit the button.

[lua]function PointIsInBox(point, mins, maxs)
return point.x >= mins.x and point.x <= maxs.x and point.y >= mins.y and point.y <= maxs.y and point.z >= mins.z and point.z <= maxs.z
end[/lua]

If the entity wasn’t set up in such a crazy way ( it runs off console commands instead of actually using Entity:Use ) this would be trivial.

The simple solution is to not use the entity.

Do the following:

Create a func_button and set it up as desired.
Create a ttt_logic_role and set the Role keyvalue to be traitor.