Constantly depleting/dropping health overtime.

Hey guys, I’ve Googled this multiple times and I can’t seem to find the answer I’m looking for, so I’m asking here. I was wondering how I would go about make it where after a player joins a server, their health starts dropping at a steady rate constantly. For example, the player starts out with 100 HP, and he looses 1 HP every minute or so. When it drops to zero he dies.

I’m REALLY new at coding so I don’t know too much, but this would be for a simple gamemode test derived from the sandbox gamemode, so I’m figuring I’d put it in the Init.lua file, right?

Thanks in advance!

Here’s a simple Bleed System: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/26074909/tutoring/takedamageinfo_example.lua.html

When using TakeDamage or TakeDamageInfo you don’t need to “kill” them, its done automatically.

Thank you very much, but this is not exactly what I’m looking for. I’m looking for as soon as the player joins the server he starts loosing health without even taking any damage - I’m planing on using it as a sort of hunger system, using food-based items to get his health back up.

I’m guessing there’s probably a way to edit the code to do that, but like I said I have no idea where to begin.

So if all players lose health, its essentially the same code; just in a global timer.

timer.Create( name, delay, repetitions, func )

So, the arguments could be

[lua]timer.Create( “LoseHealthOverTime”, 1, 0, function( )
for k, v in pairs( player.GetAll( ) ) do
// almost identical to bleeding with TakeDamageInfo
end
end );[/lua]

That would make all players lose health every second. Change the 1 to whatever seconds, keep the 0 for it to run forever, and the commented out portion would essentially use TakeDamageInfo( ) on the player ( v ).

I don’t think you understand Acecool, he want a hunger system and was using health as an example.
Edit: Acecool does understand, I am the one who does not.