Convert BSP maps to VMF

This might have been asked frequently, but I haven’t found anything helpful in my searches.
I’m very new to mapping, and I wanted to open a map I had. Problem is, the map is .bsp and as you probably know, Hammer doesn’t do anything with that. Is there any magical way to make that .bsp map into a .vmf map?

A Program called Vmex, don’t even think about de-compiling - editing and then releasing a map which somebody else has slaved over, unless unfortunately you get permission.

VMEX. I won’t link it, but as a preface there are things you should know;

1. Decompiling is a rough guess at what the mapper did to create their map. There’s bound to be a lot of problems, so take whatever you’re learning with a grain of salt.
  2. Never take anything out of a decompiled map. If you want something from someone else map. Contact them, they might even provide the original vmf.
  3. (Deals with #1.) Always make sure you credit others for something you used from a decompiled map.

Decompilers like VMEX are the way to go. Be wary that the map won’t be rendered perfectly and there will be a assload of problems caused by the process.

Also, use decompiling only for learning purposes. Try to modify someone else’s map and release it as your own is a surfire way to make everyone have little respect for you. Real mappers make their own content.

So it’s bad if I try to see what stuff some other mappers used so I can use it in my own maps?

In this case, in particular, I’m trying to make a map for SourceTowers, a tower defense mod, and I have no idea how to make bugs come out of a cave and making them follow a specific route etc., so that’s why I want to see the map that came with the mod.

[editline]11:26PM[/editline]

Also; can anyone give me some instructions on how to use VMEX?

Run it, select the .bsp file, click de-compile.

I’ve never had any issues with vmex decompiles unless I’m missing materials and the game has different entities.