Converting original Metroid Prime maps.

I would like to convert maps (If you could call them maps) from a game titled “Metroid Prime” from the gamecube.

How would I achieve this? Take note that I have no experience at all whatsoever with steamSDK, or scripting.

Also, there has been rumors of this game running on Unreal Engine 2. Just if it helps…

You’ve pretty much just stated a complete impossibility.

You would have to get textures/models that look like what you want and then make a map with Hammer **from scratch **that resembles what you want to have.

Well, I’ve been on TF2 Servers with Mario maps. Both from the Nintendo 64 and the Gamecube (Specifically a map from mario sunshine, and Bob-omb battlefield). All the textures were absolutely perfect, it looked li- NO it WAS the literal map. Are you sure?

Those were made in Hammer as mimics. You can’t just copy over a map from one engine to another.

So they would have to literally look at the maps side by side and try their best to re-create it?

Well… it depends.

For having the original Metroid maps in Source i’d say it’s close to impossible.
Source engine uses Brushwork for the majority of the map geometry while in the Prime games they use Models created in a 3d app. to build the maps.

Even if you had 3d data of these maps, i’d rather put them into UDK or Unity because these Engines are much more model based.

How to get the maps from the prime games you might ask.

Textures won’t be the problem, Dolphin dumps them just fine, with only a few minor exceptions.
But the real issue is getting the 3d data.
DX Ripper only rips the visible parts of a room, the rest is culled by the engine.
Taking several captures from variouse locations and assembling them in a 3d app is a pain in the ass and leaves you with a nearly unusable mesh, unless you put in hundreds of hours fixing the geometry.

Seriosly, you’re better off with recreating the rooms by using the ripped models only as a reference.