Copyright - construction

Since I didn’t find any similar topics on the designers ’ copyrights, I decided to create my own.

As a designer, I am very much concerned about this problem, which haunts me almost all my game design life. And this problem is the theft of other people’s design ideas.

Of all the games I’ve played, Garry’s Mod has had the most attempts to steal my inventions and present them as “my own” (not created by me)
This not only made me very angry, but also made me refrain from publishing my creations. And if I don’t publish my creations, then the point of building them is lost. Such a chain is very disastrous for a self-respecting designer. And so, I would like to know - Will a certain system work on such a problem?

Or maybe I’m the only one who cares about it, and no one really needs it?

2 Likes

I don’t see any specific cases of stealing here so I don’t know exactly of what creations you are talking about, maybe you should clarify this. But why are you thinking others should not be able to use ideas that you claimed your own? Are you trying to keep away from stealing someone else’s ideas when creating your own?

1 Like
  1. The theft occurred in the game itself, with very rare publications as from " own authorship"

2. This applies to all creations in which a lot of sweat has been invested.

3. Why shouldn’t others use my creations? The answer Is Individuality. Still need to appreciate the… what you’ve put so much effort into. The object becomes a kind of “value” that should not be given to another without any difficulty.

It’s like a Painting that you hold very dear. People see value in it and they want it. Many will do it in a cunning way for “free” And the author will thus receive neither money nor universal recognition.