Creating a third-person view of an entity.

I’m trying to create a third-person view which is centered on a vehicle the player is driving and allows them to rotate around a fixed point. Basically, what’s already included in the sandbox gamemode except for use in fretta. I can’t use player:SpectateEntity() because the player still needs to be able to drive the car. I also can’t use player.SetViewEntity() because the view needs to be able to rotate. Is there any other way to do this, or can one of those two functions actually be used? Thanks.

I’d use this little thing right here: http://wiki.garrysmod.com/?title=ENT.CalcView

To do that, would I need to make a sent? I’m trying to do this with the default hl2 jeep and seeing as it’s already an entity and I have no knowledge of sents whatsoever, I don’t know if it’s possible.

http://wiki.garrysmod.com/?title=Player.SpectateEntity ?

What gives you that idea… :S

[editline]06:15PM[/editline]

Also use this for vehicles:

Well I thought that entity hooks could only be used for scripted entites or something. If I use player.SetScriptedVehicle() then how do I use ENT:CalcView() to adjust the view, because I’m not sure how to pass the vehicle entity to it when I hook to it.

Sorry if I’m not making sense, I don’t really know what I’m doing in this case.

Eh, nevermind I reread your first post, you will want to use ENT:CalcView() instead of player.SetScriptedVehicle

To use ENT:CalcView():

Read the 2 examples from them both, isn’t to hard to figure out.

Also, is there any way to allow the player to continue using the mouse to look around, because it seems like this locks your view to one angle.

Lets start by thinking about what we’re given and what we’re trying to figure out.

We’re given the following:
p is the point we want the camera to look at
x is how far away (in game units) the camera should be from p.
a1 is the angle that the camera is positioned relative to the object.

We’re trying to figure out the following: