[Crosshairs] Are they bannable? Are they vac detected

Before commenting don’t comment on how crosshairs are scum, this discussion is if they are VAC bannable etc.

I’m new to Rust, i’m an avid CSGO player and fairly decent at it. This non crosshair business with Rust does my head in sometimes !!

I play on a server that has a constant 150-250 people on during peak times. There was a discussion about crosshairs, in specific Desktop overlay crosshairs

Does anybody use them? Are they VAC detected, I’m not the smartest with this shit, i have a $1000 steam invent i’d rather not lose due to a crosshair in rust.

Thanks.

Short answer is yes.

You could always put a piece of tape with a dot on your monitor.

And as long as the crosshair doesn’t modify any files and is merely an overlay(like the Steam/Origin/Uplay/Fraps/Bandicam/DXtory overlays), it should be fine.

If you have a super g4m3r ASUS monitor you can even have one built into the OSD of the monitor…

You wouldn’t lose your steam inventory from a VAC ban in Rust, you’d just lose Rust. Unless you spent $1000 on skins.

If you use one it makes you a certain kind of a dick.

vac can detect all forms of tape based crosshairs

[editline]27th October 2015[/editline]

yes because crosshairs TOTALLY make a shitty player suddenly amazing, yes

On my server I see this in console with one player:

IPnumber/SteamID/Playername disconnecting: Integrity Error: Hack tool detected: External Crosshair

if onluy there was an aiming mechanism on guns …oh wait.

Draw a little dot on your screen with a (non-permanent) marker. Once you have finished playing, wipe it off!

This.

hate to break the trend, but everyone so far is taking the piss. external crosshairs cannot be detected, they are just cheap and scummy. i couldn’t confirm for sure that EAC/VAC do not detect things that modify the game to provide a crosshair, but honestly, why would you need them? it’s a game ffs.

I use a small piece of Uhu patafix. It’s like modelling clay.