Darkrp - Changing the gamemode name and image?

So - I know y’all are going to say - “DARKRP SUCKS” or “WHY ARE YOU TRYING TO CHANGE THE GAMEMODE IT AIN’T A DIFFERENT GAMEMODE YOU’RE JUST A NOOB DOING A DARKRP EDIT”

And both are pretty much true. I’m NOT doing a TDM edit! I’m doing a Stargate RP gamemode, and I think it’s pretty much good enough and different enough from DarkRP to warrant it being in another category in the browser, even if I’m just a noob doing DarkRP edits.

Anyway, preemptive defense aside, I’m having trouble changing the category of my server.

I’ve noticed a lot of TDM darkRP edits that are in their own category, and they still have darkrp addons that…work. But whenever I edit files in darkrp/gamemode or just darkrp/darkrp.txt, to change the name and category of darkRP, it isn’t working. It’s still located in the DarkRP category. Is there any way to change this, either by a function, or a hook, or something?

Thanks guys.

Iirc there was a check implemented to prevent people from just renaming the DarkRP gamemode to get a new category. Might as well make your own gamemode if you think that using DarkRP as a base warrents a new category.

just on the first page of GMod servers, here are the darkRP edits:

There are a lot more down the list as well.

As I have put in the OP, I am aware facepunch is against anything DarkRP related. I’m asking for help, not for people to tell me to create another gamemode. What I am trying to do is attainable but i cannot find out how to do this.

That’s because they probably changed all the custom DarkRP variables/methods (darkRP.whatever) to be their own.

Thank you - but I am still looking for a solution to my problem. Saying something like “Darkrp.whatever” doesn’t help me. Perhaps it’s supposed to help me, I may be too inexperienced – but I still would like some help to figure out how to do this.