Development workflow

Hi there!

Okay so that’s been several days I’m browsing this forum, talking to some of you, seeing some wonderful ideas (and creations), …

Now, more precisely for the coding section, I saw several threads like what is our favorite editor (mines are VSCode and Vim :upside_down_face:), using containers for deploying servers (I prefer LCX over Docker :sweat_smile:) or even posts like this one (pipelines are life :heart:).

Anyway, I have some experience with video game scripting (Lua, C#), but not that much (and never on Gmod/any source game, please don’t hit me). So the only workflow I know is:

1. create a folder
  2. git init; echo "Awesome useless addon" > ./README.md; git commit -am "Initial commit"; git push (don’t mind if I don’t set the remote server in this joke)

start_developing_like_god:

1. use VSCode, Notepad, or whatever you want to let your creative code flow into your files
  2. copy the addon in your server (if you don’t already edit it from your server folder)
  3. restart your server, reload/reconnect to it
  4. going through the 5 stages of debugging
  5. jmp start_developing_like_god

Now, as @interstate said in his/her post, maybe it would be easy to use DevOps techniques within the S&Box content development if we are really able to use Github (or every remote public Git/versioning provider, that would be even better). This feature seems to be more than possible if look at S&Box developer portal preview.

Knowing all this, we would be able to use continuous integration and pipelines to set code quality checks (for instance with linters), code coverage with unit tests, auto-deployment by deploying the addon and starting a server, and so on.

Personal opinion on a touchy discussion here, don't open if you don't want to hear someone trash talking current addon monetization