Devlog 33 is out!

http://playrust.com/devblog-33/

sooo besides fixing trees/grass nothing was added this week? lol.

the inabilty to play for half the rust population was also added.

I don’t care for the cupboard system… No that is way too light of sentence… I hold utter disdain for the cupboard system.

I, as a designer/engineer, have had a lot of respect for Garry for staying away from “game systems”. Rule sets like these are rarely executed properly on the first iteration, and more than likely will never fully work as intended. It won’t be due to the lack of effort on the design teams side, but due to reconciliation of logistical issues it will cause.

The reason for staying away from game systems is not just because it adds an artificial and unrealistic layer to the game, but because unintended issues can arise.

Part of what I do for a living is to look at issues and solve problems. The engineer in me can’t look at a system without analyzing it. I attempt to reconcile flaws, and design better systems.

I do this by:

• Looking at the problem, and breaking it down to it’s parts.
  • Looking at the desired outcome of the solution and match it up to the problem.
  • Looking for potential issues with proposed solutions, and attempt to reconcile any logistical issues.

Garry has stated the desired outcome of the cupboard system:

Because we are looking at a very specific and limited scoped issue.

• Players can add foundations, and therefore stairs, to existing structures.
  • Players can build on unsecured foundations of existing structures.

Here is the markers (I believe) need to be hit:

• Prevent griefing: Stop stairs/ladders from being built onto the existing house.
  • Prevent griefing: Stop things from being built in front of doors.
  • Allow for players to upgrade/make additions to existing structures.

Although the cupboard system meets these markers, there are blatant logistical issues that will arise, and need to be addressed.