Downtown_V2 town centre remake using Source 2

Hi everyone!

Like most of you guys, I grew up with Garry’s Mod and it holds a special place in my heart. There was a time where I really enjoyed Roleplay gamemodes. Back in the days, I played a lot on the classic downtown_v2 created by The Pro in the late 2000s, and I quickly got really attached to this map.

I thought I could give it a try and recreate it in Source 2, with the tools provided with Half-Life Alyx and see what it could look like in a more modern version of it, without denaturating its original charm.
Just to be clear: it is my first map on Source 2, and I am still learning. There are a lot of things that could be better in this render, and I am aware of most of them. It is an experimentation, I am not planning to work furthermore on this map nor release it anytime soon. I might change my mind, someday, as my goal is to create more maps on Source 2, especially when S&box is released.

Your feedback is welcome, as there is probably a lot that I could learn from you guys.

Here are the screenshots, so you can compare the two versions :

100 Likes

The windows need to be breakable, how am I supposed to jump out of them?
Everything looks great (Especially the insides) but I think the sunlight is way too bright.

11 Likes

It looks beautiful

I just feel like I have a little bit of PTSD seeing this map that I can’t overcome

5 Likes

Simply incredible. Congratulations.

3 Likes

well done, I like it a lot just a small point that bothers me is the sunlight that I find too bright

5 Likes

Great job :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Beautiful!
People complain about the light, I think you did a great work actually. It’s not the same color of lighting but I prefer your version: it’s warmer and more welcoming.

4 Likes

Looks great but the atmosphere feels watered down. not as bright as the OG, good work though, maybe work on adding lightswitches to all the rooms too?

2 Likes