Expressions 2 questions thread

Since I’m new to expression gates and have tons of questions (that YouTube videos do not answer, and the wiki is hit and miss), I thought I’d make a thread.

I have two questions to start.

players()

The players() array, how do we loop through it or even get an array key from it. Something like this

PlayerList = players()
print(PlayerList:number(0))

always returns 0

Normal inputs vs strings?

What is a normal variable actually? Text screens and D-Latches require a “Normal” input, this does not work for me

Test:normal
Test = "A"

//Test it output

AFAIK:

Plys = players()

foreach (Key, Ply:entity = Plys)
{
    print(Ply:name())
}

Normal is the same as a Number (eg a variable is normally a number).

If you go to wiremod.com you can find an entire forum for E2 questions that will get you higher quality answers more quickly because of the number of E2 vets who visit the site.

All right thanks

A normal input is a number, variable or constant. A string is text, variable or constant. Sometimes the two do kiss though, and I can see how that gets confusing. This, however, is no such case. I advise not worrying about it, its more a matter of realizing you can do something than realizing you can’t. What you’re dealing with here is not such. Text screens accept string inputs. They may also accept normal inputs, I don’t remember.