Fixing HLSR textures - updating chrome system

So, everybody knows the famous Silverlan’s HLSR (http://www.facepunch.com/threads/945820-Half-Life-Renaissance-Reconstructed). To be short It’s a unexpendable mod for any Half-Life fan.
The point is this mod is now abandoned and no is longer being updated. I’ve been working on some fixes for this as I want to use this to make a Machinima.

Further Information
Garry’s updated the game engine and some old stuff no longer works. In this case, it’s the chorme textures which is used a lot on older Half-Life models like the Gordon’s Hand, Almost all weapons, Barneys helmet, Alien Grunt’s armor, Assassin’s suit etc.
I’m a beginner in Garry’s Mod so I don’t know too much yet. I’ve trying to fix the chorme but I always got some type of error. That’s my most newer try. I’ve messed a little with the texture files and the result is not THAT bad but still is not what I want. The point is, I don’t understand why all the effect goes alway when you turns the flashlight on.

UPDATES - Current skins.

http://img18.imageshack.us/img18/2420/2011071800001.jpg

The HECU Marines : I’ve made them look more like the real HECU, with the same camouflage and stuff, and with a better graphical quality, normal map etc. Also I’ve removed some branch mistakes from Silverlan originals, like the U.S Army star cap and the Brazilian Commandos Berett.

http://img705.imageshack.us/img705/1157/2011071700004.jpg

Alien Grunt: I’ve sucefully ported ShoTGuNGuY49’s Alien Grunt HD base chrome into this older model.

• Nugem

Chrome is just a reflective texture. Give it a fresh .vmt and make an envmap for it.

Use my .vmt settings from this.

It’s not perfect, but it’s close enough.

In fact, I’ve been using those for base. It’s a little too mirrored but it still turns white.

The .vmt is fine. It is the .vtf that is the problem. Fix the alpha channel.