Gender reassignment in Rust doesn't make sense

Disclaimer: I love this game, and I’m not going to stop playing this just because I didn’t get the gender that I wanted, however, I think the gender reassignment was stupid.

When I started playing this game, yes, I knew I’d be a male for a while. And when they announced female characters were going to be introduced, I was excited, even though I knew it wouldn’t be our choice. However, When seven of my male friends are all female, and I’m the only one who is still a male…something isn’t right.

I don’t necessarily care about being male or female, or being able to customize how I look, but I would have at the very least appreciated being assigned a female character because my steam profile specifically designates my gender as such. I wish it was more of our genders on our profiles and not our IP address. That code doesn’t make sense in my mind, and I think it’s stupid that we can’t choose male or female. It’s not an issue about being able to customize our looks, it’s just choosing a dang gender.

It’s actually based on your Steam ID, and the lack of character customization is a deliberate design decision. It’s hardly “reassignment” when the only option has been male by default until now.

Your character’s visual attributes are determined using your Steam ID as a unique seed, in much the same way that different seeds cause Minecraft to generate entirely different maps.

One of the stated reasons for this is to prevent the “three hours of tweaking sliders to create a character in Skyrim” effect. Instead, when you start up Rust and join a server, you’re simply in the game with no preamble bullshit, no long intro, no dozens of arbitrary and semi-meaningless decisions. You’re just on the beach (or wherever) with a rock and one goal: survive.

Gender reassignment in Rust doesn’t make sense. You’re stuck with what you have.

What if you make a shared account?