general tips on having code neat and g o o d?

im interested in being a better coder, i see all these nice functions in source code i see, are there like general guidelines to be more organised and how do you do it in lua?

comment everything

now you’re expert coder top 1% feel free to put it on your resume

Decide on your style, make sure to apply it consistently and keep an open mind to changing it

Keep it readable, document it with comments

Generalize functionalities, even if you’re planning on using them once, it will very probably make for faster coding in the future

Once you finish a project, be willing to completely scratch it and start all over again, the second iteration will always be an improvement, because you know exactly what you’re in for

I tend also to comment before functions all the information about the function. If you do it in a consistent way, you can then create a documentation generator.

[lua]
– GM.Modules.LoadModule function
– Argument 1: [String] Name of module
– Argument 2: [Table] Configuration of the module (optional)
– Returns [Bool] Successful loading of module
[/lua]

I also try and keep my code inside the 80 character per line rule. The original reason for this rule was for lines to be displayed properly on old monitors, but it still provides the same about of legibility, as long as you aren’t too strict about it.

You should also use named variables for constents, so anyone wanting to change a variable understands what it is.

It might be a good idea to prefix variables with identifying sequences, so as to increase your efficiency when debugging code. for example m_Variable for member variables, __Variable for local variables, g_Variable for global variables, and so on. You can do the same for classes, such as IMyInterface, bMyBooleon, mat_MyMaterial, etc.

Use OOP to be master coder

I never understood why people use OOP in Lua. Is it better? If so, how?