GetFallDamage not working?

I’m using Gmod 13 if it makes a difference (I don’t think it’s changed).
So I put this basic code together just to test it, it doesn’t work however.

[lua]
function GetFallDamage( ply, speed )
return 20
end

hook.Add(“GetFallDamage”, “Get Fall Damage”, GetFallDamage)
[/lua]

It doesn’t change the fall damage.

Try not using the hood.Add but rather calling the function directly, like:

[lua]
function GM:GetFallDamage( ply, speed )
return 20
end
[/lua]

Would it still work without it being in a gamemode?
Sorry if that’s a dumb question, I’m still new to Gmod’s Lua and can’t test it right now.

No, none of the GM functions will not work without being in a gamemode.

Are you saying the answer is “it won’t work”, then directly after saying the opposite?

Anyway, without putting it inside the gamemode files, you should do it like this (if someone knows a better way, go ahead and post it):
[lua]
hook.Add( “Initialize”, “GetFallDamage Init”, function( )
function GAMEMODE:GetFallDamage( ply, speed )
return 20
end
end )
[/lua]
You’ll have to load it in the Initialize hook, since GAMEMODE won’t exist before that.

Does the same apply to all other GM hooks? And since the GetFallDamage function is placed in that Initialize hook, wont it only run once when the server(in this case, my client) starts up?

No, it’s just only going to be defined after the gamemode has initialized. The function isn’t placed in the initialize hook, it replaces the original function when the initialize hook is called.

I guess the way I understood it was that hooks have a condition that must be met before calling the assigned function. I’m just trying to wrap my brain around why that works. Because the Initialize function only runs once at the start. So you would think it wouldn’t run that function when the player took fall damage.