Getting rid of Autocomplete Console Commands?

I have a ton of “Secret” console commands, But I’ve noticed that the console gives you a list of whatever you type in… Is there a way to turn this off? Or at least Hide the Commands? (Other than setting them Admin Only.)

The third argument to concommand.Add is an autocomplete table:func:string, so you may be able to do something with that to get it not to show, like function() return false end or something. I’ve never tried it before.

That’s only for arguments, though.

You need to create a console command that doesn’t use AddConsoleCommand or whatever the internal bind for it is. You can look at the source for Lua based console commands here.

Or you could simply make them chat commands.

Or require certain players or arguments in order for the command to work.

“secret_command 03jeje-helds9f39ij2peidq”

Where you had to match that exact string in order to run it.

Agreed, restricting it to a certain group of players really is the only way to make it secure.

Add the command serverside. Serverside commands don’t show in autocomplete. Though a user check should be done.

If your secret command is for some reason entirely clienside then there isn’t any way to secure it properly. If you still don’t have your amswer you’ll have to explain what it is you are trying to do.

[lua]
function engineCommandComplete( cmd, args )
if cmd == “SEKRUT” then return
else return concommand.AutoComplete( command, arguments ) end
end[/lua]

Try that?

So you want to override an engine command?

You don’t override the command, just the autocomplete.

I’ve also heard told that if you make the console command start with ~ then not only will it not shop up in autocomplete, it’s impossible for the player to enter the command.
I’ve never tried it but I’ve heard some people swear by it.

This is what copy and paste is for.

] lua_run concommand.Add("~asdf", function() print(‘fe’) end)
> concommand.Add("~asdf", function() print(‘fe’) end)…