gm_badpsychiatry

I’m a novice mapper and i’m looking for advice and help, i just began making an “eye candy” atmospheric map and am looking for constructive criticism and help. This map is a work in progress!

Here is a link to download:

http://fileape.com/dl/M68uRQADyOVLbGlm

I also need suggestions on what to add, the theme is an abandon mental hospital/psychiatric office.

Pictures?

on it

[editline]16th June 2011[/editline]

some of the props i put in didn’t appear in the final compile, any help?

Ensure the prop is being used correctly. There are three ways a prop can be used: physics, static and dynamic.
When selecting a prop’s worldmodel, look at the “info” tab, to see which of the three they can be used in.

I don’t mean to be rude, but this not at all the quality we’ve come to expect from a thread
devoted to amap. I suggest you take a good look at some of the other map threads to see
what exactly I mean.

first of all, Your lighting, is… Well, it’s almost non-existant, it looks like you’ve simply put a
light entity or two there, and hit compile. There needs to be a believable level, and colour
of light, as well as sufficient attenuation to light the room, not a single spot, while the rest
of the room remains in darkness.

Secondly, your brushwork, and architecture is simple and very uninteresting, there’s
nothing going on, its a plain room, with a couple of plain corridors, with no actual doors,
door frames, windows or anything remotely interesting.

Thirdly, your texturing, well that needs some work too, you can’t just paste the same 2
textures over everything, it looks like… Well it just looks terrible. Think about braking up
repetition with architecture, try to think about using textures which complement each other,
not clash. And the decals don’t just go wherever, they look like they were painted on, that’s
not how they’re supposed to look.

Lastly, your props are awkwardly and randomly placed, and the ones that didn’t show up