GM_DeadHarvest

I asked a friend for a map idea and he said a farm (he was playing Harvest Moon :P) so I made one that was in the middle of nowhere, and made it a little combine controlled.

It’s a work in progress, I’m still trying to figure out 3D skyboxes, and I want to make the lighting look better, because in some places (mainly the barn) it looks like shit. So I’m still learning Hammer. :uhaul:

EDIT: For some reason, the shed and generator outside screenshot is not working properly, so that’s the only screenshot not posted.

The ground level part of the map is around 80% complete.
The underground is only 40% complete.

I’m for certain fix all the lighting that looks like crap

Here is this video, in case people don’t go down the thread.
[media]http://youtube.com/watch?v=dY5fWlBtVTA

Blocky and has no purpose. You were at least able to make it not fullbright which is a good start. Add more and give it a purpose and then come back.

It does have a purpose, if you could read the Youtube description is that the harvest is in a drought and the combine have taken the farm from the original owner. I’m not finished with it yet, but I did it all without a real mouse and just my shitty laptop one and that still took around 2 hours last night, so I’ll work on making it less blocky today.

I want to work on the fence a little because it looks bad, and the entrance I agree looks blocky. I’m going to work more on the house today, and change the skybox to something like a sunset.

Okay well yes i do see a purpose now. you keep stating its a farm but all i see is 2 buildings. no offense it does not look much like a farm to me. but keep up the work i guess

i read his description, its a build map. better than flatgrass i must say.

Ewwww
The lighting is ugly, it looks undetailed and not really useful.
There are better flatgrass clones out there, add something unique and interesting to you’re map otherwise no one would use it.