Going about adding stats

This is just a question, how would you go about adding like stats? What i mean by this is adding stat levels like strength or agility or wisdom based on walking or hitting or talking or somthing.

Im just getting into lua and id like to figure out how to do this, any suggestions?

Since you are starting lua, you should start with simple things, like network variables. Basically, all a network variable is a variable that is stored with that player until he leaves. They don’t save and not the best for manipulating a lot at once, but you get the idea of stats. For example, you have someone join the server and spawn. Maybe have something like:
[lua]
function GM:InitialSpawn( ply )
ply:SetNWInt(“HandtoHand”, 1) //sets a variable “HandtoHand” to 1
end
[/lua]
All this does is when a player first spawns in the server, it sets the HandtoHand variable of that player to 1.
So then maybe have a weapon that if it hits a person, it would increase that variable. Then have the damage done be dependent on that variable.
Maybe something like:
[lua]
function SWEP:PrimaryAttack()
local h2hskill = self.Owner():GetNWInt(“HandtoHand”) //sets the local variable h2hskill to the player’s value, for convenience
self.Owner():SetNWInt(“HandtoHand”, h2hskill + 1) //adds 1 to the value
print(“Your Hand to Hand level is now “… self.Owner():GetNWInt(“HandtoHand”)…”.”) // prints the value to the owner
end
[/lua]
Like I said, might not be the best option in the long run for storage and such, but you get the idea.

Thank you, this gives me something to work with. Your probably right, that i should move towards more basic lua but ill refer to this in the future.

No.
NWVars are the worst thing you can do.

How would you go about doing something like this? With sql? im not sure how lua interacts with sql but i know how php does and its quite simple.

I always hear NWVars is the worst thing. But what is our alternative?
I would really like to learn the “Better” way.