Guide on Hammer-style mapping in Blender

Just going into this, I’d like to say that this probably isn’t the best way to do it. It’s very inefficient with materials so this technique may be unsuitable for heavy use in game engines like Unity.

Let’s get started. I’m going to assume you know a bit about Blender, but you could probably go in as a complete beginner and understand it.

This tutorial also suggests that you have a folder of textures. A good resource for textures is CGTextures, if you didn’t already know.

We’ll start with building a material library.

Step 1.

Start up Blender.

Step 2.

Select the default cube.

Step 3.

Open the Materials tab.

Step 4.

Name the material whatever you like. Preferably something that’ll make it easy for you to pick out of a crowd.

Step 5.

Go to the Texture tab.

Step 6.

Name your texture like you named your material.

Step 7.

Change the texture type to “Image or Movie”

Step 8.

Step 9.

Find your texture folder and import the texture you want.

Step 10.

Add a new material slot.

Add a new material.

Step 11.

Do what you did over again until you have all of your textures imported.

Step 12.

Save your .blend file. Do NOT delete the cube.

Your material library is now complete. Now onto the actual mapping.

Step 1.

Open a new file.

Step 2.

Click append in the file menu.

Step 3.

Find your material library.

Step 4.

Click on it to navigate through its files. Click on the “Materials” folder.

Step 5.

Select all of your materials. You probably have more than me.

Step 6.

Your materials are now selectable in the materials tab.

Step 7.

Drag out the side menu for a moment.

Step 8.

Change the Material Mode in the Shading sub-menu to “GLSL.”

Close the side menu.

Step 9.

Change into Edit Mode.

Step 10.

Change the Viewport Shading to “Texture.”

Step 11.

Build your map. I’m not going to teach you how to use blender, you can do that on your own time. (You’d probably want to google “Blender tutorial” for this)