[Help - Gmod] Beginner 3D modeling for Garry's mod

Hellooo, Well first off I am a bit new to this. I’ve been wanting to get into 3D modeling and Graphic Design for games and such for the longest time but I had no idea where to start.
Now that me and my friends at [MG] are planning to start up our community again It has given me somewhere to start with modeling and designing.
My problem is I don’t know the basic basics.

What program should i use?
I’ve heard of blender but I’ve gotten mixed reviews on that
I own Zbrush but I don’t know anything about the program and I heard that Zbrush has to many polygons for Gmod games and/or valve games in gen

Where should i start when i get the program?
What steps should I take to learn not only about how to create models but also to import them to Gmod and other games
(As well as adding textures’n stuff)

I’ve heard milkshake is good to start with,
Correct me if I’m wrong guys.

[editline]23rd August 2012[/editline]

Lol meant to say milkshape

I use 3dsmax. And as for advice, I have none really. I’ve been learning myself. The tutorials you find on here might be somewhat helpful, though most are outdated. I would just watch many youtube videos.

Wish you luck.

I also use 3dsmax,. you can get it free by applying as a student,.
I don’t know anything about making a model from scratch,. but if it’s rigging, try using mariokart64n’s as reference. His tutorial is a bit outdated and most of the links are dead,. but it’s a good reference and you’ll be able to rig a simple model, on Gmod.

I think Maya is the best for modelling, and 3ds max is best for animating.

Zbrush is great too. You can sculpt your model and then lover the polygon count afterwards. And to my understanding the maximum polygon count for source is 32767.

apply for a student liecense
it has
3ds max- I use this for animating rigging.
XSI- I use this for modeling, one of the best in my opinion.