Help with a basic health bar.

Hello,

So pretty much I am new to lua and whatnot, wanting to give stuff a try, I got this script

function HealthHUD()
	local ply = LocalPlayer()
	local HP = ply:Health()

draw.RoundedBox( 0, 5, ScrH() - 30, 300, 25, Color( 40, 40, 40, 150 ) )
	draw.RoundedBox( 0, 5, ScrH() - 30, math.Clamp( HP, 0, 200 )*3, 25, Color( 220, 108, 108, 255 ) )
	draw.RoundedBox( 0, 5, ScrH() - 30, math.Clamp( HP, 0, 200 )*3, 25, Color( 255, 255, 255, 40 ) )
end
hook.Add("HUDPaint", "HealthHUD", HealthHUD)

It’s displaying correctly ingame, seems to be working but my main problem is, it doesn’t seem to lower the bar when I get damaged, why is this? Help would be appreciated.

EDIT: Figured out it works, fall damage wasn’t removing any HP, How would I add an outline to the UI?

EDIT: Figured out the outline, the last question I have which I can’t seem to find is how would I make it somewhat like an animated loading bar? As in if you have 100 hp and go to 75 hp, it doesn’t just instanty go to 75 hp, the bar lowers from 100, 99, 98, 97, 96, etc and it just goes down to what the hp would be (75) Help would be appreciated.

Animation is pretty hacky, but possible.
I personally use math.Approach and let the client slowly approach the current health value, like so:
[lua]local health = 0 – This will act as the “approacher”, moving towards the player’s current health
function HealthHUD()

local health = math.Approach( health, LocalPlayer():Health(), 12 ) -- move health towards the player's current health 
-- Last one is pixels to move per frame
-- find a speed you like 

local healthWidth = ( healthApproach /playerMaxHealth ) *healthBarMaxWidth -- calculate width as percentage of maximum

-- DRAW STUFF USEING healthWidth, or use height, whatever

end
hook.Add( “HUDPaint”, “HealthHUD”, HealthHUD )[/lua]