Help with Compiling

What does this mean? - MountAppFilesystem() failed: SteamMountAppFilesystem(4294967295,4294967295,0xaf9fd54) failed with error 4: Bad launch configuration

I’m using GUIStudiomdl to compile a simple TF2 hat for pyro with no self illumination or anything like that, just a simple hat.

I’m a complete source newbie, so i’d seriously appreciate some help.

Here’s my (presumably wrong) qc. file:

$modelname “player/Screammask.mdl”

$body shell “Mask.smd”

$cdmaterials “C:/Program Files/Steam/SteamApps/galligus/team fortress 2/tf/materials”

$sequence idle “Mask.smd”

-Thanks, i greatly appreciate ANY help, especially with the upcoming Halloween update, for which i hope to make the deadline.

Sadly, GuiStudioMDL has been broken since steampipe. In the bin folder (Steamapps/common/TeamFortress2/Bin) there’s a program called StudioMDL. Drag your qc onto it. :slight_smile:

I’m pretty sure it’s giving you the mounting error because TF2 is no longer in that location (the SteamPipe update moved it to Steam/Steamapps/Common/). As for the only immediate thing I see wrong with your .qc, your $cdmaterials line has unnecessary info included. The way $cdmaterials used to work, it’s automatically reading from the materials folder in your game’s install directory, so all you really need to do is include is anything after the materials folder. The SteamPipe setup still reads it as such; the only real difference is that everything will be in the Custom folder instead; if you pack them as a .VPK, then it will sit directly in the Custom folder. Leaving them as loose files would require placing the materials and models folder for your hat in a subfolder of your name choice (an example would by my_custom_pyro_hat).

Now, let’s just say you had the textures stored in a specific location and that Team Fortress 2 hadn’t received the SteamPipe update. Your textures are stored in the following location: