Help with learning

Hey,

I have been doing huds and derma for around 6 months now and it bores me and i dont know where to start on learning more server side lua.
I have been reading pil 2nd edition which i have been able to apply to some of the small scripts i have made, i really just want a push in the right direction.

(Please don’t tell me to make a gamemode)

what would you do if you could know lua? try to do it, theres always a wiki to get help. and facepunch.

Make an addon then.

You just need to understand how the client-server model works (the server defines the game rules and serves the players; the client shows HUD).

Try to read other people’s code, you will learn then how to write your own.

i know i should be making an addon but the thing is i have no ideas lol

I started learning lua by simply editing values lol. (I thought I was so smart for doing this…)
I then moved on to some chat commands, using hooks like PlayerSay really helped me understand what hooks are and how they work, etc.
After that I made round events, mainly for ttt.
I also made some custom commands that have a timer/cooldown (Helped my understand and utilize the difference between serverside stuff and clientside stuff)

I’m currently working on a big project (To me it is, not that good with lua) - Creating serverside achievements. This is to understand things like database (I still have no idea how to save something player-specific) and ofc, to have fun and improve.

I think it’s quite obvious I’m coding this for a community, and some people will tell you that it is not the right way to go. But I find coding something for people you care about really helpful motivation-wise.

Ofc, I’m still a pretty bad coder…

Friend me man. I’m really willing to help you out with all your questions and teach you. Todays newbies are tommorows greatest :slight_smile: