Help with rounds

Hey. First of all I am really new with lua and I do my best to search through internet before posting help threads, but I have been stuck for 2 days. I am trying to code an FFA system that starts a round when atleast 2 players are online, ends the round when 1 player is alive, and stops starting new rounds if only 1 player is online.

I haven’t tried coding it all yet, I just have problems trying to make checks for how many players are online.

[lua]
local num = team.NumPlayers( 2 ) --theres only 1 team (besides spectator team) since its FFA so I assume this works
local canstart = false

function checkforplayers()
if num > 1 and canstart == false then
canstart = true
print(“Enough players have joined! Starting the round…”)
–more shit to trigger the round started
elseif num <= 1 and canstart == true then
canstart = false
print (“Waiting for players”)
–more shit to cause rounds not start
end
end
hook.Add( “PlayerConnect”, “playerscheck1”, checkforplayers );
hook.Add( “PlayerDisconnected”, “playerscheck2”, checkforplayers );
[/lua]
I’m not sure but maybe I didn’t understand the meaning of hooks properly coz I kinda feel something is wrong with the hook.Add’s.
Thank you in advance.

PS, I’d like to learn, not copypaste :slight_smile:

EDIT: Oh yeah and the problem itself is that when I check the canstart value through command I created, it isn’t updating itself when player connets/disconnects

for a start put this:
[lua]local num = team.NumPlayers( 2 )[/lua] inside your checkforplayers function. that way it will be updated every time its called.

[lua]
local canstart = false

function checkforplayers()
local num = team.NumPlayers( 2 )
if num > 1 and canstart == false then
canstart = true
print(“Enough players have joined! Starting the round…”)
–more shit to trigger the round started
elseif num <= 1 and canstart == true then
canstart = false
print (“Waiting for players”)
–more shit to cause rounds not start
end
end