Hi everyone I'm completely new to all of this! Hints are appreciated.

One of my viewers was very cool and sent me Rust as a gift. I’m now attempting to stream it on twitch.tv/stickyhamster
If anyone has tips on how to get started or would just like to pop in and say hi, please do!

I’ve been wanting this game for quite awhile and I’m really geeked to play it.

stickyhamster

Some guides here: http://www.rustafied.com/rust-experimental-guides/

Hints: make a spear. Kill a bear or wolf easy with a spear - just keep poking it. Then make a base somewhere where no one is around. Finding stone is really important too, early on.

prioritise making a sleeping bag (unless you build near the beach). you will spawn randomly along the beach, or can choose to spawn at one of your sleeping bags, so it will save you wasting time trying to find your build again:)

oh, and most people will shank you for your rock, so watch out for people coming too close. especially if they are shouting “friendly, friendly”

This is almosttactfuls faq: http://www.uswest.info/faq.html

2 ways to start.

1.Farm barrels,when you have enough stuff you can move on to 2. and even skip some steps.

First thing is to farm 300 wood and make a spear.
then farm 100 wood and make paper
farm another 100 wood and make a campfire and then make a building plan from the paper
farm another 200 wood and look for stone
farm around 200 stone and make a stone hatchet

Look for animals like pigs or chickens for easy kills,harvest the animal with the stone hatchet once you have killed it with the spear.
Make a campfire and cook the meat,split the meat in 2 stacks and put both in the camp fire (check back every now and again to make sure it doesn’t burn)

Eat the cooked meat until your health is at around 80% or so.
Use the cloth to make 2 bandages and put them in your tool bar
Use the remaining cloth and stone to turn your wooden spear into a stone spear