HL2RP Help :S

Hey, I recently bought a Legacy HL2 RP ticket off of cloudsixteen.com and I spent all day downloading things. I finally finished and I get up to mysql. I have no experience in mysql what so ever so if someone could reply to this any maybe help me? It would mean alot. :stuck_out_tongue:

Ok, I assume you have been given instructions yes? Something along the lines of execute some .sql files onto your MySQL server, no?

Tell me, does your MySQL server use phpMyAdmin?

No, I have only done what it has said on the cloudsixteen wiki. I also believe I don’t have the correct link for mysql :S If you could throw me that real quick it might help.

Just checking, have you read http://wiki.cloudsixteen.com/Configuring yet?

I have, But it wasn’t really any use to me because I didn’t know anything about MySql

Ok. Allow me to unravel this for you.

This is basically telling you you need a remote database to connect your server to. Most Dedicated Server providers will provide you with a Remote MySQL Database, but if not, you may have to install one yourself, or use one with a Web Host (such as HostGator).

Username and password is self explanatory.

when it asks for your database, it wants the name of the database all the tables will be stored in.

Tables are self explanatory. Ever done a Science experiment and recorded results? its sorta like that, only it indexes these results by a key value (say, an ID number, Steam ID, name, etc…)

Host is the IP address of the server containing ur database.

Before we continue, do any of your providers offer a Remote Database for you to use? A little snooping into CPanel options should give you a quick answer.

Currently I don’t have a provider because my computer is decent to run a server (I know how much it takes to run one with globally so I somewhat set it up for that) If it is possible to do it off my PC it would be great but if I can’t I would have to get a provider.

Hmm… this could be an issue.

What operating system?