How do I convert a VMF to a BSP?

I’m a noob mapper, sorry for such a stupidly basic question. But I decompiled my friends map to add in nodes for him which went well. Though the only problem is when I try to re-compile and save my hammer crashes and it gives me errors like missing textures or custom models [from the map].

Is there a way to fix this issue and allow me to successfully re-compile back to bsp format?

Get the .vmf from him. Don’t decompile the .bsp. Decaompiling stuff fucks up the map.

You shouldn’t even be decompiling maps in the first place. Short story short: it messes with the brushwork. Just ask your friend for the original .vmf

[editline]12:01AM[/editline]

Ninjas. :ninja:

that’s my problem though. i also want to edit bsp maps from other various maps too so I can add nodes to them (for NPC navigation). apparently until someone will make a nodegraph system to edit/create nodes on a map in real-time for gmod, i can only decompile BSP’s and manually add the nodes in myself. but the problem is that I can’t re-compile it back to BSP format.

No.

Do this;

map_edit <map_name>

but i’m using a BSP map. can i open a BSP map in hammer? (noob questions i know, but im a beginner i apologize.)

No.

You can’t open bsp’s in hammer.

If you decompile them you can, but we know what happens when you do.

You can use map_edit to place nodes. So use it.

yes but how to i save the nodes once im done with the map_edit.

and in that tutorial link it tells me to recompile the map in hammer in order to save the nodes - which is something i obviously cannot do.

Alternatively, VIDE’s Entity Lump Editor can be used to import the entities in a VMF into a BSP. Can be useful for mass manipulation such as this.

1. Add the nodes in Hammer.
  2. Visgroup off the nodes. They should have an entry in the “Auto” tab. Un-visgroup everything else.
  3. Select and delete everything.
  4. Un-visgroup the nodes and save a copy of the map.