How do you Lua anyway! Tutorials do not help...

Many tutorials teach you based on the fact that you already have prior knowledge with Lua. This is not the case, I am totally new to this coding, if someone could tell me how, in exact detail and exact order, so I may learn, and not just copy, thank you.

Go into your addons folder. Find something with some lua files in it. Be able to understand how certain things fit together, at least primitively, and read. Also check out the wiki for shitloads of articles about Garry’s Mod specific lua stuff. Honestly man I just learnt by reading dozens and dozens of already made lua files, and scanning the wiki for interesting shit.

Good luck.

Have a look at these:
Programming in Lua
Garry’s Mod Wiki
LuaBin (Lua source files)

As stated before looking at other peoples scripts is very helpful most of the time.

Just think of an idea, then download a bunch of peoples lua which does similar things, and try to mash them together into your idea (don’t release though, since it’s mostly not your code!)

It’ll teach you the basics of syntax etc very quickly.

My order of lua’ing:

1. Creating the folder for the addon/gamemode
  2. Creating hte info.txt file
  3. Creating/copying the shared.lua, cl_init.lua and init.lua to the “gamemode” or “addon folder”.
  4. (Gamemodes) I begin coding the engine (init.lua and shared.lua). Then the HUD (cl_init).
  5. TEST!
  6. WIN! (Final fantasy Victory theme)

If you want to script a gamemode, begin with easy things like the “PlayerLoadout” function, wich gives players the weapons they need on spawn. Or the “PlayerInitialSpawn” function, wich starts when a player joins for the first time.

You can find TONS of other functions at: http://wiki.garrysmod.com/?title=Main_Page

Just search for… lets say… “ents.Create” or… “Create entity”, and KAMAFUCKINGBOOOOM, its there!

i would also recomend learning to understand the error messages: